Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 9:31 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: PL 400 a worhty hardwood glue???
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 8:47 pm 
New User

I have been installing hardwood for 7 years now, and run the installs for 13 major retail stores. Since I started I have used pl400 and glued the first row, and the last 3 rows. (I have never had an issue) I went to my supplier to pick some up and they told me that they will no longer sell it due to the fact that it does not provide enough allowance for movement. OK??? then he proceeds to tell me that they are switching to pl premium because it provides more movement. Is this guy crazy??? my experience with pl premium has scared me into never using it again, if you let any dry on the floor, good luck getting it off!! even on the back of the tube it says the only way to remove it after it has dried is to use abrasion, which works great on a prefinished floor, NOT!!!! not to mention that it dries much harder than pl400 right???

Anyways, is it true that the NWFA will not even look at a floor if pl is used?

and second is there a good convenient glue that comes in a tube' that will do what it needs to do, and not cost a fortune.

I know that some guys say that you can topnail the last 3 rows, but that is awful looking

any opinions on PL400??

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: PL 400 a worhty hardwood glue???
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:06 am 
Prized Contributor

I dont have any issues with 400 or Premium. Their selling Premium because it's cheaper. Just wipe it off the wood with paint thinner before it cures. Or go to Big Box for 400. Their both Urethanes.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 8:44 am 
Prized Contributor

Any urethane adhesive will do the job, some keeping more flexibility than others, but all workable.
I don't understand what NWFA would want to be "looking" at the floor for anyway.