Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:07 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Acclimation conflicting advice?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:39 pm 
New User

First time poster and hardwood flooring newbie here. Thank you all so much for your posts, this website has been very helpful.

I have a question on acclimation. I just ordered 600sf of solid prefinished red oak, 3-1/4 wide, and plan on installing it myself in the coming weeks. I live in CT, and I have window unit AC's if that matters (no central AC).

When I ordered the wood, the salesperson told me that their company's installers strongly advise against opening the boxes and letting them acclimate to the room. He said to put the boxes in the room for at least 24 hours prior to install, and leave the boxes closed. He said the installers typically just open the boxes and check the moisture level of the boards, and then proceed with the install. He went on to say that opening the boxes would cause problems. He said they've been doing this for decades and installed gazillions of square feet.

Am I missing something? I thought I was supposed to open the boxes and let the wood acclimate to the room? After all...it's eventually going to need to come out and end up on the floor 24/7, right? Is there some trick about using the moisture meter prior to the install, that these installers are using?

My original plan was to open the boxes and let them acclimate for a week or so, make sure the moisture content was within 2% of the subfloor, and install...please let me know what you think.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Acclimation conflicting advice?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 7:39 am 
Worthy Contributor