Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 8:34 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Anderson Hardwood E3494 Engineered 1/2" Gluedown concre
PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 9:53 pm 
Newbie Contributor

thanks for taking the moment to read through my post>>>

i just bought 770sq ft of
Natural Elm E3494 3" Plank Anderson Hardwood. the plan is to install the hardwood floor myself over next weekend. this is my first time doing this but from every website i've been to regarding the glue down method over concrete, it appears relatively easy - am i missing something here or is it really not that difficult?

here are some factors:
1. the house is a new home and the concrete slab appears to be very level with the exception of a couple of spots i need to fill (1 inch by 1 inch little divets where concrete appears chipped)
2. i live in southern california and the temperature around here year round probably averages 73-80 degrees.
3. i plan to use Anderson "Duck Glue" DG4 (5 pails)
4. i'd like glue directly over the concrete
5. the floors will cover two living rooms...one room is a full square, the other is a square with the addition of one 45 degree angled wall measuring around 4 feet.

i don't want to blow this job and regret it months from now. i've read moisture can be a huge problem...but everything around here is so dry year round, i can't imagine moisture being a problem - but i don't know and that's why i'm here...to get advice.

this hardwood is also engineered and figure this is more resistant to water moisture than regular hardwood - is this true?

i want to avoid any creaks - what should i look out for?

is contractions and swelling a problem with engineered hardwood floors? the hardwood floor is comprised of 3" wide panks about 36 inches long.

any help would be GREATLY appreciated... i would more greatly appreciate help with my specific scenario and not other hardwood types.

thank you SO much!

steven

Post subject: