Amish made hardwood

It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 5:12 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Applicator marks that appear with a saten coat?
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 10:33 am 
New User

Hi,
I am a wood flooring contractor. Most of my business is refinishing hardwood floors. I am in the middle of a project, the existing floor is a pre-finished maple, it was sanded with a 40 grit, 80 grit, 100 grit and screened with a new 120 grit screen. I applied Fabulon gloss as the base coat followed by a coat of Fabulon Semi-Gloss then topped off with a coat of Fabulon Super Saten. I use a T-bar applicator to apply the finish. I know it was designed for water-based finishes, however, it does a beautiful job with the oil-based finishes, better than a lambs wool applicator. I now have applicator streaks running through the entire room. I initially thought it was sanding lines until further inspection and realized they were applicator lines. I thought the finish may have dried too fast and didn't have time to lay down properly. I added Penatrol to the poly to have it stay wet longer (which in theory) should lay down better. The applicator marks have appearded again on the 4th coat (which is also saten). I now have these applicator lines which when you get close enough to the floor, it almost looks like very thin lines of gloss finish coming through. These lines didn't appear until the saten coat was dried. FYI- the floor was screened, vac. and tack between each coat.
Do you have any suggestions on what I can do to avoid having these lines appear in the finish? Why would these lines only show up with a saten finish? I screened a small area today and coated it with gloss to see what may happen with those lines.
Thanks for your time and consideration on this problem of mine. If you have any questions or need additional information, you can e-mail me at acwoodfloors@yahoo.com