Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat May 04, 2024 5:10 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Applying Too Much Bostik MVP????
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 10:15 pm 
New User

Hello. this is my first post. I am having wood floors installed (Solid 3/8" thick by 3" wide). These planks will be installed on a concrete slab. I applied Bostiks MVP ahead of time. I wish I read about this MVP thoroughly before applying it. I went a little heavier than the thickness of a credit card (bostiks instructions) I may have applied some areas about 3 credit cards thick. Will this harm my installation of the wood down the line? I didnt know to do a complete full prep of the concrete either (Im new at tis trying to save some money-"new homeowner"). I ripped up carpet, swept, and vacuumed. It seemed clean enough, only thing was a couple of slight cracks that I filled with MVP. Will this harm the wood later on?

Also is it normal for the wood planks to slightly drift apart from each other by themselves when glued down with Bostks Best? I bought the blue 3m 2080 tape tonight to tape the planks together, is this correct?
Thanks All!

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 1:01 am 
Most Valuable Contributor

You should be ok. Clean the glue off the flooring before it dries. Once dry, it is extremely difficult to remove entirely

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 8:18 am 
New User

Thanks Gary. But the way I prepped the floor (sweeping, vacuuming, and applying more MVP than recommended), and using Bostiks Best Adhesive,... will I get a good life out of the new wood floor with no problems? The room does not have a great moisture content. Should I use more glue on the floor to hold the planks?