Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue May 07, 2024 3:36 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Baseboards First? Or Hardwood Floors?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 10:04 pm 
New User

Gentlemen:

I have this discussion every time I get caught in the crosshairs between a builder and a flooring installer. Since I am an interior trim carpenter and stair man, the question is always asked:

"What goes down first - the interior trim (doors, baseboard)
or the flooring."

Naturally, the flooring contractor insists that the flooring be installed first. Also naturally, the trim guy insists that the trim be put down first. Both sides hold their opinion to be absolute.

I have my opinion on this subject, but I'm going to withhold it for a while so I don't color any responses (one hint though - I'm more to the middle than to one side or the other). Whenever I ask a floor guy or a trim guy for a reason why they hold the opinion they do, I never get any response other than "Because that's the way it's always been done." That hardly bowls me over with hard science.

It's not that I want to tax anyone's brain with hard science after a long day's work, but can anyone advance some good, solid reasons why one method would be better than the other, or why a combination of the methods would be best.

What I am looking for here is an answer to which sequence of installation of these two phases of construction would be best for the product (i.e., the new home being built), not which sequence would be easier for each subcontractor involved.

O.k. then. Have I come to the lions den, or are there some reasonable men out there with well-thought-out answers to this age-old question?

Cheers

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 1:57 am 
Most Valuable Contributor