Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 3:49 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Best tear out technique
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:25 pm 
New User

I've been an installer for a few years now but I have only once done any tear out work. I have a job coming up that requires me to first remove about 500 sq ft of the clients original 5/16" thick solid 2 1/4" (if cheap looking) hardwood. I think it's fastened with the little staples from the hand guns that are used for engineered boards but I'm dreading it and wanted to ask if there was a good way to rip it out rather than wrecking bars, cats paws and side cutters! I wanted the install work so I only budgeted $800 for the tear out but if there's a handy dandy tool I'm all ears.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Best tear out technique
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 12:15 am 
Prized Contributor

I'm an old crow bar and hammer guy :)

But your best tool may be a couple helpers !

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 4:35 am 
Prized Contributor

If this is part of a larger renovation where any dust you might make won't be a concern; set your circular saw to the proper depth and make cross-cuts every 2-3 ft. across the floor.This will make the pull up much easier as well as make bagging up the waste a simple task.
Stand on top of the floor in install stance; and use your claw hammer to pull up the boards. Your crow bar will only be necessary along the parallel walls.

Depending on the quality of the sub-floor, most of the staples should remain in the floor boards, also making the clean-up and prep much easier.

You should do well with the $800.00 allowance. One man and a grunt should handle the removal in a half day; so your only other expense will be any disposal costs you may incur.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:09 am 
Prized Contributor

truckasaurus wrote: