Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 1:03 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Black stains at nails in face nailed oak.
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:10 pm 
New User

I'm a General Contractor who hired a flooring subcontractor to repair/refinish 5/16" x 2-1/4" Oak strip flooring. Conventional parallel strip flooring in halls and bed rooms and then approximately 12" x 12" parquet squares of the same material in the kitchen/dining room. There were areas where high traffic and/or moisture exposed the face nails. Around each nail is a black spot. Now that it is refinished it stands out and looks really bad. This Sub came recommended by the Owner and I don't want to jump on him unless I know for sure what he could have done. If I discovered a flaw like this on wood work where I was working I would have pointed it out and offered solutions before applying the finish. Make the Client decide what to do next. Searching on line I find recommendations for using hydrogen peroxide or oxalic acid solution on the bare wood after sanding to remove the stains. Is this proper practice? Was he just being lazy or not wanting to take the extra time? Same Sub did a few other things wrong but those I'm certain enough as to proper practice to just ask them to be fixed.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Black stains at nails in face nailed oak.
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 9:38 pm 
Prized Contributor

Exposed top-nails need to get set below the surface. The steel will rust from water used to clean the floor or from a spill that does not get wiped up. The black spot does not sand out if the floor has been damp for any length of time.