Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 8:55 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Bowed engineered flooring question
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:35 am 
New User

While I have installed solid flooring by nail-down method in the past, this is my first attempt at doing a glue-down of engineered flooring over concrete in a radiant floor house (above grade). The problem, if it is one, is that the unfinished engineered flooring has a slight bow in each board. By this, I mean that the 3" wide boards (5/8" thick with a 3/16" wear layer and the remainder being a 5 ply hardwood plywood) are bowed upward about 1/2" in the middle when laid flat on the floor for a 7 foot board. Even the small 1 to 2 foot boards have a slight upward bow to them. Is this acceptable for a glue down? Will I need to weigh down all the flooring once laid (and before the glue has set up) to get the adhesive to bond? Is that typical for a glue-down job, or should I return the flooring? Thanks for any advice.

Mods: Please don't delete this time. I really need some advice. You used to sell this product. Maybe this is why you don't anymore? I would mention the brand, but if I do, you will likely delete my post again, as per your rules regarding mentioning anything that you don't currently sell.

Thanks.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 9:34 pm 
Worthy Contributor

We install, sand and finish a lot of this flooring and have had the same problem in the last year or so. I talked to my distributor about the problem and was told no one else has ever complained about this. We looked at all the stock in his warehouse and every pallet was bowed.
This flooring takes twice as long to install when it is bowed, I say send it back.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 9:41 pm 
Prized Contributor

Bowed is sideways. Banana boards are up & down.

I find it becomes a concern around the perimeter, and not so much out in the field of the installation. Weight it down.