Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 7:05 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: brand new oak floor with blemished aluminum oxide finish
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 8:55 am 
New User

Hi all,
This is my first time at the site and you all are great. I need your advice. I just had a prefinished oak floor installed last week. It is 3/4" solid with an aluminum oxide finish and a 25 year warranty. I opted for the low gloss finish over high gloss because I prefer the look. To my dismay and several thousand dollars later, there are blemishes (shiny spots) over the entire floor. A factory rep came out to the site when about a third of the floor was installed and said that it will have to be sanded and refinished, which they will do under warranty. Great, I had a warranty claim already and the floor wasn't even installed yet.

I am worried about several issues, but most of all about what this new finish will do to the look and durability of the flooring I picked out. I spent a great deal of time selecting this product and decided to go with it because the installer said that he's been putting it in for 15 years and has never had a problem with it and every customer has loved it. So, I don't know if I will have a say in what product is used or how this finish will be corrected, but I would like to hear some objective opinions so that I know what to expect.

What is the best finish to use over prefinished aluminum oxide?
Can it be either oil or water based?
Is polyurethane okay?
Will it turn yellow over time?
Will it be low gloss?
How is it different from aluminum oxide?
Does the current finish have to be completely removed before the new finish goes on?
How long should I wait before moving in? I have a heavy, large solid wood desk going in the room and I haven't moved in yet.