Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu May 02, 2024 11:40 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Brazilian Mesquite in Florida cupping
PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 10:14 pm 
New User

Hello, I am a contractor in Florida. A customer purchased some Mesquite. I hired an English finish carpenter to do the work, and he installed the wood perfectly. About six months after the installation it began to cup in an area about 4 feet in a circle and I though maybe they dropped some water or something. So I got a moisture meter and the floor read 8 to 10%. About 25% of the floor has cupping.
Now as the rainy season in Florida has begun the floor is cupping. It is down well - not lifting - but in some places the moisture has risen to 12%.
I have tried everything to seal the exterior of the building and I think the moisture is beginning to abate. I put in a dehumidifier which is pulling out a gallon of water a day. Should I check the moisture in the air? I can't figure out how the moistrue is getting into the flooring - yes I put plastic and a layer of house wrap - on concrete floor and used 3/4 inch tongue and groove backer board - best I could find at 34.00 dollars a sheet.
I told my customers that I would pay to have the floor sanded and refinished, but the customer thinks refinishing will void their 50 year warranty. In fifty years the floor will need to be refinised a number of times, I should think?
Any ideas how to solve this problem? After reading the advice you guys give, I see that you think that if anything goes wrong the installer is a jerk, but I did this thing by the book and took every precaution just to avoid a call back. I think it's Florida. I just think Florida has too much humidity for wooden floors...