Amish made hardwood

It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 2:34 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Central Pneumatic, off brand staplers - any experience?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:48 am 

I am about to start hardwood project and need to buy a pneumatic hardwood flooring stapler. We will be doing the entire house instages since we are living in it, so renting at the HD doesn't make sense. The Bostitch MFS III costs over $450 new and rarely under $300, even well-used, on eBay. There is an off brand which is sold in a variety of colors by different vendors, but all have the same stampings in the body, and come with a case, safety glasses and mallet, etc. They go for around $250.00 on eBay and Harbor Freight sells theirs for $149.00. Obviously I am not a pro, and won't need to make my living with this tool, but if it's going to fall apart after a couple of rooms, then it's not worth it. Anyone have any experience with this off-brand?

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:57 am 
Newbie Contributor

I did a DIY floor this winter and also struggled with the price of the pro tools, but didn't want to take the risk with the no-name/Harbor Freight quality of tool. Nobody seemed to have first-hand-experience with the cheapo tools, but everybody unanimously endorsed the high-end ones (MIIIFS, for example), so I decided not to be the guinea pig.

Here's what worked for me. Buy the MIIIFS brand-new as cheaply as you can (Amazon.com has them for about $480, and often has $25-off-tools promotions, plus free shipping and no tax in most places), use it, then sell it to the next DIYer. I sold mine for $350. The $130 I ate was cheaper than the cheapest chinese-made tool, and cheaper than any rental option considering that I used it over several weeks, and I had the assurance of using a brand-new tool.