Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed May 15, 2024 9:04 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Choosing and applying a finish for my first floor
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 10:42 pm 
New User

Good day to you gentlemen,

First I would like to thank all of you in advance for your time. After reading several of the topics already posted, I decided to just start one for myself. The questions asked were met with swift and sound responses from some very knowledgable men, and hopefully I can benifit from some of the same advice. Again I would like to say thanks. Now onto the meat of the stuff...

Alittle backround about myself and the job. I have been working as a carpenter now for about 10 years, breaking in as a remodeler then a production framer. For the last 3 years or so I have been working with for contractor doing all kinds of odds and ends, Framing, trim, tile, prefinished hardwood, all mainly in new construction. Most of the homes we built where in the 1800 sq foot to 3400 sq foot range in develoments near Youngstown, Ohio.

Late last year, my little sister and her husband asked me to build them a home. Now while they both do very well for themselves, money was still an issue. Of course they wanted alot more than they could afford, but I told them that I would help them out where I could. To make a long story alittle shorter, they hired the small company I worked for to do the shell and mechanicals with me overseeing the job. Then I would finish the house myself with whatever help I could get from my sister and her husband.

Things are going very well, and we have gotten to the flooring...

The kitchen, laundry room, foyer, and all the baths are tile. The two upstairs bedrooms are carpet. The master bedroom, office, formal dining room and living room are hardwood, about 1100 sq ft.