Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed May 08, 2024 1:06 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Circular or Table Saw?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 5:59 pm 
Newbie Contributor

To the veteran flooring guys:

Which do you use and prefer?

What is easiest for cutting solid strips the long length way (the 4+ ft long pieces for finishing the end row)??

All I own is nice Mikita Circular Saw I used for some framing work. Since I'm new to the flooring trade, I'm wondering if I should buy a Table saw to make straighter boards that are cut the long way. Thoughts?

Also, for the simple Pine Colonial baseboard moldings, is the Circular saw adequate for the angle cuts, or do you think I should invest in a Mitre saw too??

Thx!
PBuddy

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 6:47 pm 
Prized Contributor

Even though it is much slower then my table saw, I could make it work with a circular saw. Just cut the board from the back side, finished side down. Buy a 60 tooth blade for it.

Miter cuts the same way.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:00 pm 
Site Admin

PB:

Depends on the amount of flooring you're putting down. A good jig saw will work if you don't have alot of rip cuts against paralell wall lines.

Baseboard? Defiinely a miter saw

Uptown was created by your administrator, offering my high quality 3/4" engineered floors made in the USA. Unfinished and prefinished.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:42 am 
Valued Contributor

If you expect to have any future in your newly chosen trade, you had better buck up and buy some tools. I consider my slide saw and table saw to be bare minimum. I cannot imagine ripping stuff up with a skilsaw. You are liable to lose a finger.

I concur with what Ken offered,get a decent jigsaw,at least. Make sure it is an oscillating model.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:16 am 
Newbie Contributor

)Pea,