Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 5:00 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Correct way to square up for transition-less installation
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 3:41 pm 
New User

Hello everyone! I’m preparing to glue down some 5-1/4” engineered on our concrete slab. As a complete newbie, I am curious what the correct way is to install the flooring in a transition-less fashion. Mainly, we have a hallway that
has 3 bedrooms off of it, and the hallway also opens at one end into an open plan living and dining room.

Since the hallway is very visible, I wanted to square up the install to this hallway (equivalent-ish width end pieces against both side walls of the hallway). What I’m confused about is how to then keep running the floor into the bedrooms, while also squaring up these rooms (i.e., avoiding small slivers or unequal width end pieces). Should I be ripping down the first few boards that enter into the room to compensate for the room being out of square and potentially not square with the hallway? If so, are there any tricks to make the different width boards less visually jarring? Or, is there a better way to do this? Also, as the hallway opens up to the living room at one of the ends, how do I continue the installation to square up to the living room?

You can see a diagram of our house here: https://imgur.com/a/3Qvxv0W

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Correct way to square up for transition-less installation
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2021 11:00 pm 
Prized Contributor