Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:29 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Deft Lacquer on hardwood stair treads?!?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2021 12:16 pm 
New User

Hi - I'm a hobby woodworker/finisher and know a thing or two about top coats. But I don't know floors.

My contractor just installed oak stair treads in my house...I asked him to use a water based poly so the stairs would match the rest of the house, which recently had the 80-year old oak floors refinished by a floor contractor - and they used a water based poly over a dark brown stain. Floors look great.

But the stair guy used Deft Brushing Lacquer, he wiped it on over the same stain the flooring guys used. I couldn't believe it when I saw it. I have used that in the spray can for touch ups on lacquered stuff - I'm used to spraying nitro on guitars and other wood projects but would never have though of it for floors. Deft even says on the can - "do not use on floors." I called them and they do not recommend it saying it is too soft for floors.

My contractor is good at a great many things and he has done numerous projects small and large over the last 2 years on my house and I trust him. He says he has used the Deft before, and that floor guys he knows recommend it as it is more durable than other clear coats and "won't scratch like poly." But that flies against everything I know about top coats. I also worry about yellowing over time which my water-based poly floors won't do. The stairs don't get a ton of sun, but do get some.

Any advice? I can leave it, I can try to chemically remove it, I can shellac over it and and poly over that, I can make him sand it back and start over. All feel like bad options...

Thanks!

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Deft Lacquer on hardwood stair treads?!?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:53 am 
Prized Contributor