Amish made hardwood

It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 6:45 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Diagonal Flooring install "growing" in the middle.
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 9:18 pm 
New User

Hi. I am a total newbie @ flooring, so I'll try my best to describe my problem, sorry for any omissions.

I have begun installing a nail-down 3/4" x 2-1/4" prefinished oak wood floor. Prior to install I laid a 3/4" T & G plywood subfloor over the original pine plank floor. I have opted to install diagonally due to this being in a 125 year old church that I am remodeling into a home, and the walls are not true to one another.

My problem is that after beginning the diagonal in one corner and now having laid about 9 feet (at the peak of the "triangle"), the center is growing faster than the ends of each run of planks. I began noticing it about 16" before now (I just quit until I figure out what's going on) and when I did notice it, I started trying to make up the difference by topnailing the ends and predrilling and hand nailing the end planks of the run. It didn't help.

I read in another thread someone talking about "cheater gaps". I get the idea of a cheater gap, but I don't know how it's accomplished, and moreover I don't know if it will help me. I don't even know what's causing the middle to "grow".

I'm not sure if this is important, but the diagonal of the floor is not laid at a 45 degree angle, it's closer to a 60 degree angle to match a couple of architectural features (archways) in the house.

Any help would be much appreciated. If you need more information I'd be happy to tell all that I possibly can - anything that would help anyone out there form an opinion about how to proceed,

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 10:23 pm 
Most Valuable Contributor