Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 6:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Dishwasher Leak....cupping on 3 week old Exotic Braz Cherry
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 10:57 pm 
New User

I had Cherry Hardwood installed in kitchen, dining room and hallway.
The stuff looks amazing at night especially. Anyways. I am totally new to hardwoods. We had a 7 ft area rug in the kitchen, covering most of the work area. I started to notice waves in front of the dishwasher (Sunday). I knew something wasn't right, but didn't know the problem. Tuesday rolls around, and I notice the waves are extending outward across the floor in front of the dishwasher.
That night I hit the internet and learn that it is called supping, and is casued by moisture.
Wednesday morning I pull the dishwasher out and see WATER!
I disconnected the dishwasher.
My estimate is ,that this leak has been happening once every other day when we run the DW.
Floor is 3 weeks old, water present approx. 2 weeks, but not constant.
What are the chances of this correcting itself ( I keep reading that hardwoods can)?
How long am I looking to see a diff. in the cupping?
Like I said I am a newbie to the HW experience.
It is beautiful stuff. Nothing like walking on Hardwood floor in socks. Solid.
Weird..I know!
Thanks

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 2:47 pm 
Most Valuable Contributor