Amish made hardwood

It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 3:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: DIY BonaKemi Traffic
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 6:59 pm 
New User

After some investigation it looks like BonaKemi Traffic is going to be our best bet for our refinishing job (chestnut floors in our new house). We are pretty handy, and are going to do it ourselves, but I cant seem to find where i can purchase Bona Kemi finsihes if Im not a pro.

Any ideas out there. Also, why is it a profesionals only product. Is it harder to apply? Or is it a marketing technique?

Thanks
Adam

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm 
Most Valuable Contributor

It is made for the professional market. All two component waterborne finishes are for professional use only. It is due to the catalyst/crosslinker that must be added. It is not the easiest finish to apply but certainly not the most difficult. DIYers are often better off with a slower drying oil-based polyurethane that allows for more working time and easier touch-ups. Some flooring distributors will sell to the general public at a greater mark-up than the flooring contractor pays.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 4:56 pm 
New User

Can you suggest a quality product that you described? I like the low VOC qualaty of the BonaKemi.

How much of a markup are we talking about?

Thanks for your help.
A

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 6:29 pm