Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 3:02 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: DIY'er - Finish Advice
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:35 am 
New User

This is my first attempt at a hardwood floor repair so please, go easy on me!

We recently refaced the fireplace and had a new hearth installed in our 1930 Spanish Colonial Revival. The job left a gap in the original white oak flooring approximately 3'x4' on either side of the hearth. I successfully feathered in boards to the existing 87 year old floor, got everything flat and troweled in some filler.

I applied some Zinsser Bullseye Amber Shellac to match the color of the existing floor. What I did not take into account was the halo effect caused by the shellac being feathered onto the existing finish.

I was planning on knocking down the shellac on the existing floor/finish with 220 then apply a coat of Defthane Semi Gloss Poly in an attempt to lessen the halo effect and match the sheen to the existing floor as the sheen of the shellac isn't quite the same as the existing floor. The instructions on both the shellac can and the poly can advise against applying the poly over the shellac. What are my other options in applying a clear semi gloss finish over the shellac to achieve my desired results? Once I get the floor sorted out, I'll need to extend the quarter round at the plaster boards and finish off the hearth with some molding.

Profile E-mail  

Amish made hardwood

Post subject: Re: DIY'er - Finish Advice
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 11:59 pm 
Prized Contributor