Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 5:46 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: edger marks
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 6:50 pm 
Valued Contributor

I am not that good with an edger. I seem to always leave marks when I am cutting a large area. I was doing a little area today that had to be angle cut (cupped) and it took me an hour to get it right. I was using 100grit since it was Jatoba. That stuff is like sanding glass.

I am thinking of buing the Festool Rotex for cleaning up after the edger.

http://www.festool-usa.com/portando/ima ... tex_gb.swf

Any of you guys use it?

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 12:48 am 
Chuck, why not just let your dad to the job?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:36 am 
Valued Contributor

That is what I have been doing for the last ten years.

My dad is teaching me how to do it this week. We have not worked together since I was a kid. I was/am too much the butthole. He will be 65 this year. He has been sanding for the last 15 years. I never bothered to learn from or collaborate with him. Too busy.

I aim to make up some time.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 2:44 am 
Most Valuable Contributor

Chuck,

Edging is a real learned skill/art. But first you need the right tool and it needs to be set up properly. I'm partial to Clark's Super 7; low center of gravity means better control. The rubber backing pad needs to be dressed by someone who knows how to do that. It is way too complicated to explain; you have to be shown. If you live near a facility that services sanders, call them and ask if they will dress and adjust your edger. If not, you'll have to send it away or take a NWFA class from Wayne Lee at Alto.