Amish made hardwood

It is currently Mon May 13, 2024 11:29 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: employment
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 9:21 am 
New User

Hi everyone. I am new to this forum so hopefully I am in the right spot. I am a installer and sand/finisher in michigan with over 12 years experience in all aspects of wood fllooring and live in michigan. The economy is very slow here and it does not seem to be going to pick up anytime soon. Is the flooring industry bad all over right now? I have called different states and it seems it is alot better elsewhere. I think I am going to relocate either to the south or out in california. Is there any jobs out there for someone with my experience. Some input would be great. Thanks and have a good weekend.

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 1:15 pm 
Most Valuable Contributor

Many have work elsewhere. I've heard Michigan was in dire straights. With your experience, you should have no problems finding employment. I would recommend working for a flooring company at first till you get your feet on the ground and used to your new location. California, especially in the SF Bay Area, pays better than many other places BUT it is also expensive to live here. Some southern states pay poorly IMO and some border states have a lot of immigrants, legal and otherwise, doing the work for less. Consider Idaho, California, Utah or anywhere the economy is doing better. Even consider restoration work in the Gulf states hit by Hurricane Katrina. Both Louisiana and Mississippi have much rebuilding to do and I've heard they're paying a premium for labor there as well. Also, consider posting on the Floormaster's message board. Many business owners there and some are now looking for help. Go to:

http://www.floormasters.com/

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 1:39 pm 
New User