Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 12:55 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: ENGINEERED PARALEL TO JOISTS
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:16 pm 
New User

Hi Guys,New to the forum and have a question.I'm a professional floor covering installer.Strictly wood and laminate for the last 6+ years.Been in floor covering for most of my life.On/off from 15 - 21 and since 21(I'll be 41 in aug).I installed engineered paralel to the joists(per ok via phone by manufacturer tech)As we were prepping the floor(ALL joints in subfloor sanded,PERIOD,1st step of EVERY job along with full scrape,sweep,countersink all protruding fasteners),I called the distributor and talked with the installation tech and he said it was preferable to go across the joists but,with an engineered,it would be fine to go either way.Have installed several houses this way since then due to ease of installation.The pruducts were Pre-finished Handscraped and antiqued.Running paralel,there are only 2 short 45 degree headers.Running perpindicular,The ENTIRE job is working out of headers on one if not both sides.Not very many different size boards to work with(each box of handscraped has 5 6'ers,1 4' and 1 2')Not a very good pattern for 50 feet from front of house to back.The only real option is to cut,hand bevel and stain to match EVERY board butting the headers.Can't really use ANY factory ends against headers if some are cut because you cant match the factory ends well enougs(IMO)to mix the two.Should be all factory or all hand-done.OK,you want it ,you got it.I'll charge accordingly.Problem is this is new construction,tract homes subbed from large shop with DELEGATED RATES.Sorry but,at $1.85 ft,NOT HAPPENING.Homeowner had independant inspector come out and say my job was sub-standard due to the direction.Oh yeah,it also runs the long way with the room.THIS ABSOLUTELY KILLS ME!I would NEVER do this without an ok from the manufacturer.I am NOT a hacker.I refuse to go over high moisture