Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 7:38 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Engineered vs. Solid; Glue-down vs. Floating
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 10:42 am 
Glad to see this message board up - I never got to see the previous one!

As you will soon tell, I am a complete newbie to the world of hardwood flooring - but I am learning quickly!

So here's question #1 - we are in new construction, going over concrete -
what's the better option: engineered or solid - and if solid, what is the maximum thickness you would recommend (9/16"?) PS - we are in Austin, TX - where it's hot most of the time! Is it true that we should use spacers every 10 boards or so to allow for expansion in the case of solid?

Question #2 - what is the better option between glue-down and floating - I don't know what to consider? are specific products made only for glue-down or floating or can the same product be done either way?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 11:22 pm 
Prized Contributor

I guess I should take this one...

Personally, I will not install a solid wood over concrete, even if the installation instructions say you can do it. It is a very, very risky installation. The risks are too high for my reputation. I never lost money on a job I didn't do!

New construction and high Moisture Vapor Emissions are go hand in hand!

Even old slabs here in Austin can read high, because of the hills (The Texas Hillcountry!!)

As a NWFA Inspector also, I inspect at least one thin solid a week, that has been glued down to the slab. cupped and buckled is the claim

An engineered cross-ply is made for gluing down to concrete, because it is more dimensionally stable.
If it were not for concrete, I bet we would never have engineered wood flooring!

The concrete still needs to be tested for high vapor emissions.