Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 11:02 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: entire engineered floor problems
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:26 pm 
New User

Thanks you in advance for reading about my issue. Any advice is greatly appreciated. I am looking for steps I should take to investigate my problem and pinpoint the source of my problem so when I repair, it doesn't happen again. I by know means am trying to shovel blame elsewhere, but if its found to be a manufacturing defect, how to proceed so my company does not front the repair bill.

I am a project manager with a remodeling company. We recently(3 months ago) installed a hickory engineered 3 1/4" plank floor(5/8" thikcness) supplied by mountain lumber company over a Uponor radiant heat system. The floor was acclimated in the conditioned house for more than a week(maybe ten days) and i think I remember taking the rh of the wood before install at around 6 or 7%. The floor heat was not turned on at the point of install. Mountain lumber company has given me literature guaranteeing there product over radiant flooring.

My problem is now cupping and delamination over the entire floor I installed. We glued using bona floor glue where possible, care taken to not contact glue to the pipes. And normal 1 1/2" floor nails. I installed the entire first floor of the house with the wood over the radiant, and every room has anywhere from 5 to 20 cupping or delaminating boards. And the problems continue to get worse. If I sit in the quiet house, I can hear pops and crackles every once in a while as the floor moves.