Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 4:09 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Expansion for Plank engineered wood on stairs
PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 1:09 pm 
New User

I'm new at this but am a quick leraner. I read your article on how to install plank engineered wood on stairs. One question: The article suggests to make a tight fit on the step and riser to the stringers. With the use of engineered wood, does the 1/4" recommended expansion spacing matter?

Thanks.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 9:08 pm 
No, it doesn't matter. Cut the flooring so it fits tight to the stringers and risers. On stairs, to install trims to the stringers or risers looks tacky and unprofessional. The exception is installing cove or scotia moulding under the nosing (or landing strip) were it meets the riser.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 11:51 pm 
New User

Thanks, Gary.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:06 am 
Newbie Contributor

you could try using a stair jig, I use one for solid and plank steps, bought it from a local disttributor but I'm sure you could find one online. an adjustable jig that fits onto the step and then tightens down at the exact size, simply rack a few boards together including the bullnose and trace the line from the stair jig, cut the boards and the step is done, saves a lot of time. If you can't find one, take an initial measurment of the step and cut each piece a tiny bit on the big side, then trim slightly untill it fits snug, too big is bettter than too small!....bullnose is expensive.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 11:51 am 
Yeah Sean, Those stair jigs work great. I use one whenever I'm installing either solid treads or flooring on stairs that have skirts on both sides. Another tip. Back cut the floor boards about 2 degrees. It allows for an easier and tighter fit. Can't do it on the nosing as you'll see it from the front.

Post subject: