Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 2:16 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: final cut with buffer questions
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:59 pm 
Newbie Contributor

I have been refinishing for 11 years and everyone around here uses 120grit screens for theyre final cut on the buffer. I have recently taken a liking to 3M's easy change 120grit gold sand paper on the buffer. It flattens edger digs, can help hide chatter, cuts out 80grit edger marks, doesnt dish out grain like screens do and creats a great uniform color without water popping.
The problem im having is it seems to burnish the hard grain to the point that dark walnut looks like provencial.
So i have considered trying 3M's black 100grit easychange disk. Im afraid of it leaving swirl marks so i have been waiting to try it on a natural or golden oak floor.
Any suggestions on a similar product i should try? Maybe something more cost effective since these only last half as long as a screen.

thanks,
Ronnie

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: final cut with buffer questions
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 10:22 pm 
Semi Newbie Contributor

What type of pad backer do you use? I used to use a 1" white pad with a screen, but I noticed it gave more of a textured look to the grain. I switched to using a 1/4" very fine maroon pad from Norton, and this gave a flatter and more uniform appearance.
Additionally, I recently began using Bona's multi-disc with 100 grit. I then use 100 or 120 grit screen for a final buff prior to staining.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:12 pm 
Valued Contributor

I haven't found screens to dish out open grain but rather the opposite.I sand my floors to 100 grit most of the time and then buff with a 120 grit screen. I can typically get one screen to last about 700 square feet or so by flipping it around 350 square feet.

The reason why the 3M easy change discs don't last as long is because htey create more friction and heat than screen do.