Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:36 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Finishing a "Dirty Top" Heart Pine Floor
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:10 am 
New User

I'm in the process of building a new home myself. Getting close to having to purchase floors so that they have enough time to be milled and then acclimate in my home.

My wife and I have just about settled on a reclaimed heart pine, in a "dirty top", or whatever trade term you would want to call it. The surface will have circular saw marks, skip plane marks, or whatever other naturally occuring marks and patina from 200 years of existance in a factory or industrial environment.

My question is on how to finsih such a floor? I'm not a flooring guy by trade, but have a good bit of experience in installing and finishing solid hardwood. I built my previous home myself and did my own floors with 1600sqf of heart pine, but it was a smooth type, I drum and edge sanded the floor after instalation. How do you go about finsihing this type of flooring to leave the character on the face of the board?

I've tried to search the internet for advice on finshing original surface, or barnwood type floors, but have suprisingly found very little info.

My plan is, going off what my gut tells me to do, is after nailing down to very lightly sand with a square head orbital floor sander. I was thinking with a fine grit paper, like 150 or higher, or maybe just even a screen. Once the floors have been lightly sanded or screened, more or less to just knock down any big burs, splinters and to clean the surface some, I would clean them well, and wipe down with mineral spirits. I then planed on 3 coats of poly.