Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 3:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Finishing Problems - Desperately need emergency advice
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2018 5:04 pm 
New User

I'm attempting to refinish a parquet floor so that I can get my family moved into our new house before the new school year begins. I have a lot of DIY experience in just about every other home improvement category imaginable, but this is my first attempt at refinishing a floor. I started with a drum sander and progressed through grits 36, 60 and 80, alternating directions with each grit. I then mixed some of the 80 grit dust with Glitsa Wood Flour Cement and coated the entire floor, in order to fill the many large gaps between tiles. I then used the drum sander again with 80 and then 100 grit paper. I finished with a square buff sander using 80 and then 120 grit, then I cleaned the floor and "water popped" it to help the stain take.

The floor looked great!.. until I stained it. :cry:

I have 3 main problems:

(I tried to post images after each description, but received an error that, "It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image." Here is a link to the gallery: https://postimg.cc/gallery/2rz09afbi/ )

* Discoloration that often spans multiple tiles. The lighter area usually feels smoother, so somehow it seems that these areas were sanded finer and did not take the stain as well.

* Wood filler that filled the wood grain, rather than gaps.

* Drum sander lines from when I was sanding across the grain.

Here is a photo of one of the better sections of floor. I really think this can look great, if it can be saved.

(Photo in previously linked gallery)