Amish made hardwood

It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 6:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Finishing the Finish?
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 8:39 am 
Newbie Contributor

I just applied the topcoat of satin (oil-modified poly) to a refinished white oak floor in my house. The results are acceptable for my DIY standards, but there are the usual (for me) collection of lap lines, thick spots, etc. As a woodworker, I've been wondering about this. In woodworking, we always finish our finishes by rubbing out brush lines, etc with a series of very fine abrasives and steel wool. This results in a very smooth, even finish throughout the work piece.

Woodworkers sneak up on a perfect finish while floor finishers seem to rely on a combination of skilll and luck. (More luck than skill for the DIYer.) Is there such a thing a "finishing the finish" in floor finishing? I tried buffing satin poly with a white pad, but that left a kind of semi-gloss shine on top of the satin, which I didn't much are for. I prefer a much duller sheen.

Any thoughts?

Profile E-mail  

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 9:14 am 
Prized Contributor

What type of poly and what applicator did you use? Floor finishes should not lap unless you worked into an area that was already skimmed over you have to keep a wet edge and feather your cut in areas very little luck involved it's knowing what you are working with and how it works. finishing a 2 x 5 table is a whole diffrent story when you compare it to finishing you floor. If you try to get it "perfect" often you overwork the poly causing those brush marks, quality floor finishes are pretty forgiving if you post what finish and application I could give you some more help.

www.HeartlandHardwoodFlooring.com

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 9:41 am 
Newbie Contributor

Thanks for your quick reply, Kevin.