Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 4:23 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: I'm flexible/I want the right floor - suggestions?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:44 pm 
Newbie Contributor

Hi,

I'm a newbie - this is my first post but I've been lurking for a couple years. This is gonna be long... But I have 2 years worth of reading/thinking stored up... :)
We are looking to get approx 680 sq ft of wood flooring in the main floor of our house (inc. our kitchen) hopefully in the next year. I'm a research geek (hence the 2 years of lurking) so I have some ideas of what I think I want - or should get but I want to make the best choice. We will most likely be selling this house in the next couple years so the flooring is as much for resale as it is for us. So this is not my forever house and my dream floor. Yes - I want to like it, but I would rather my house and my climate dictate what is most appropriate and try to find something that fits within those parameters.
My husband's only input so far is that he doesn't like hand scraped - I don't particularly care for it either. Seems like a trend and would make the floor less of a candidate for refinishing (but I'm sure I got that information from this forum. :wink: ) I guess my only thing is I don't really care for oak - I don't care for the heaviness of the graining.
SO - I think engineered is my best bet? I thought I wanted the wider plank (5 inch), but I'm pretty sure I'm back down to more like the 3 inch range. We want a mid range stain - again something universally appealing for resale and at least some amount of bevel. If there are good deals to be had in the "lesser" grades of wood I'm open to those. But since it will be in our living room and dining room - it would have to be on a case by case basis.
Might could be interested in the strand bamboo (none of the crazy tiger/zebra business) - don't care for the horizontal at all.