Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat May 04, 2024 10:34 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: General install questions for newbie
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 6:54 pm 
New User

Greetings,

I am a pencil-pusher by trade. Wife and I have recently purchased a well-preserved elvis-palace that was built in 1973, and not touched since. We are tearing up the wall-to-wall dog-urine-colored carpet, and I intend to install hardwood, with ceramic tile near doors, in kitchen, and in entry. If I may, I'd like to describe our subfloor, crawlspace, and planned DIY installation, and I would very much appreciate comments or advice.

Location: NW Washington State, a rotten-apple throw from a saltwater marina, and a long golf shot from Puget Sound. Climate and humidity regulated by proximity to the Sound (I think) - heat of summer rarely exceeds 80F, and snow is a rare thing. We do get an occasional dry cold snap, when the northeast wind blows in Jan/Feb.

Crawlspace: 90% covered with poly when built - south end of house (facing marina and bay) seems to be the lowest, and is location of no poly cover. I did see standing water this winter at that end of the crawlspace. I don't think the builder left enough fill inside the foundation wall, and the water is sneaking in under the foundation tile - it was pretty easy to excavate and find the bottom of the fdn wall at that end of the house. There are 8 vents for about 1300 sf (~25'x50'), and they are clear and functional.

Subfloor: 2x6 (1.5x5.5?) fir t&g decking, laid perpendicular to 4x8s on 4' centers. The 4x8s run the length of the house. The portion I've exposed after tearing up carpet and particle board is in good shape. From underneath (after crawlspace survey - lots of spiders!), the fir decking and the 4x8s look bright and like new.