Amish made hardwood

It is currently Mon May 20, 2024 3:05 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: hand scraped floor finish question
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:03 pm 
New User

Hello folks,
I am by no means a pro. Just a guy that has learned quite a bit as he goes a long. I have refinished a few floors as I own a 100 year old multi family home w/ wood floors. I purchase another old home that my wife and I just moved and am working on the floors now. Actually the house is pretty ripped apart as I am working on pretty much everything :D
The flooring I put down is 5" white oak w/ visible knots and looks pretty rustic for the tight budget I am on. I purchased the scraper linked below and am starting the hand scraping tomorrow.
http://yhst-69597175499612.stores.yahoo ... sckit.html

I planned on using bona dri fast for the stain but am not stuck on it. I just want a decent stain.

My problem is that w/ the hand scraping and old world/rustic look that I am going for. I was really hoping to use waterlox. Outside of the look of it I like that I wouldnt need to sand to put down another coat when the floor starts to wear. I assume that the floors being hand scraped would make the refinish of a poly type finish a nightmare.
At $800 to cover my 1200sq' though I simply can not do it.

What are my options here that will keep me visually and financially happy?
Thanks so much for the help.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: hand scraped floor finish question
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:58 pm 
Prized Contributor

flavo, Rubio Monocoat works great with white oak. My buddy and I covered over 1,000 sf with just over 2 liters. And the beauty of it is easy touch up and maintenance. You can order small samples.

http://www.monocoat.us/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/13772863@N08/5026560036/

IFCII Certified Inspector
Floor Repairs and Installation in Tucson, Az
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:14 am 
New User