Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 6:05 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Hardwood dilema
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2014 10:59 pm 
New User

Hello ,I am a newbie and I would like to seek your help and expertise on my hardwood dilemma. Here it goes...

We built our new house in 2013 and it was competed in August of 2013 ( they broke ground in April) and we have installed solid hardwood through the house ( first and second level). We installed solid maple 3 1/4 inch boards with a thickens of 3/4 inch from Appalachian Flooring in Canada - Quebec

http://www.appalachianflooring.com/coll ... 9&grade=11
Once we moved in, few days later all boards were cupping. We bought a dehumidifier after a month or so after we moved to get the humidity under control. Cupping disappeared by winter time but we start experiencing noticeable gaps, loud squeaking - you could actually feel the movement of boards in the downwards direction as you stepped on them. (keep in mind we bought a humidifier as well in order to maintain humidity around 45). The fact that we had a cold and dry winter did not help.

Now in September of 2014 most of the gaps are gone however we still have boards that squeak and actually move downwards when walking on them. By the way we live in Ontario and here the summers are hot and humid and the winters are cold and dry.

And now for the dilemma. Due to the many issues we have with the floors they agreed to replace the hardwood floor ( we had an NWFA inspection done) The question/dilemma is should we install the same maple floor or switch to red oak ( although we love the look and finish of maple) in order to have a more stable wood in terms of being less susceptible to humidity and since red oak seems to be the most common hardwood floor around here ....or go with engineered hardwood?

Your input is greatly appreciated.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Hardwood dilema
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 6:30 am 
Valued Contributor