Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 11:42 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: hardwood head board wall
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:49 pm 
New User

Hello there. We are planning to install horizontal birch hardwood tongue and groove planks on a middle room divider wall which is also our headboard. It is Cronin 3/4" x 3.5" widths and random lengths from 12"to 49-1/2" being the longest. This head board is almost a 10x10 but it's 90 sq ft. We took out all pieces and evaluated ones we could hide behind the bed or ones that we would cut at outlets or sconces. They are all stacked in piles according to size (about 7 different sizes with each box being pretty similar) so my thought was to actually come up with a layout in autocad and just stick with that as best we can. I am an architect by trade but we've built our house foundation up with contempory details and we are quite capable. I'm a perfectionist :-D and my hubby is great at this stuff. My shower tile layout came out amazing and I laid it all out in sketchup with grout and it came out exactly right. Laying it out in a computer has worked for me in the past, but I thought I would seek some advice here as it's hardwood and it will be permanent with one shot. We are going to be screwing with trim head screws hidden in the groove and gluing it. Any thoughts on glue? I considered bostiks best after researching but also read about loctite PL premium and I couldn't get bostiks best here in Fairbanks. We are in alaska. I couldn't find an engineered wood here less then 5" wide. I wanted about a 3" width.

This is an afterthought on a wall with metal studs and sheetrock already. We realize we will be predrilling for every screw. Studs are 16" centers.

Can anyone please advise on glue recommendation and how I should go about my layout?

Thank you.

Profile E-mail  

Amish made hardwood

Post subject: Re: hardwood head board wall
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:02 pm 
Prized Contributor