Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat May 04, 2024 11:30 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: T&G Herringbone Question
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 4:21 pm 
New User

I am not a pro, but have laid (all stapled) about 3000 feet (finished and unfinished) over a couple years to help my son in law in two different houses.

I am perplexed. :oops: My wife fell in love with bamboo. Picked up some bamboo T&G flooring -- all the same size (3-5/8" by 36" by 5/8") and my wife says "herrinbone pattern would look cool". Well, I started to lay it out and it appears that I can't do it without a bunch of trimming, grooving and splining.

What am I doing wrong or are there "left hand" and "right hand" cuts in batches for herringbone????

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Bill

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 9:40 am 
New User

Hi Bill,
I'm sure you've probably already seen it, but there is an article on how to install a herringbone pattern here ... http://www.hardwoodinstaller.com/hardwo ... ngbone.htm

I thought about it for my living room, but decided just laying the floor properly would be hard enough for me without trying to do the herringbone. :) The article makes it sound as if a lot of trimming, routing, and splining would be expected for this layout.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 11:35 am 
Worthy Contributor

You are not wrong, herringbone requires a specific milling.

www.theoakfloorsofmarco.com

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2005 11:53 am 
New User

Thanks Paul and Marco.

I had read the link (which kind of inspired me), but I was hoping the trimming and routing was only for the making the random lengths uniform. Marco confirms my fears. This may push the limits of my abilities. I need to think long and hard about this (while the flooring is still acclimating -- I am giving it three weeks to acclimate with ten days to go).

Thanks for the responses.

Bill

Post subject: