Amish made hardwood

It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 11:12 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Hope you guys can Help, Refinishing my floors.
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:38 am 
New User

So guys I am hoping you all can help or share your opinion. First things first, I am a builder by trade so I have pretty good experience with most things, just have never refinished a floor myself and I am tired of waiting on my flooring guy to fix his crap.

Floor: 4" white oak, current stain "Coffee", 3 coats Bona Hd Satin.
*floor installed a year ago, started cupping. Between flooring suppliers and hardwood flooring guys arguing and checking moisture contents, etc.. no one can figure out why it happened, AND I AM PAST THIS and don't care anymore, so lets not try to figure it out here. (I am using waterborn, due to the fact I have huge windows on the West side of my house and takes direct sun in the afternoon and do not wish to have yellowing of floors with oil based)

At any rate the floors have been down about 13 months now, so whatever they are going to do, they have pretty much done it. The cupping is moderate, not severe, but you can feel it with your foot and see it when light shines across the floor. No boards are popped or even loose.

Here was my plan of attack, please tell me if it is wrong:
Belt sander: 24 grit, 40grit, 60grit, 100grit.
*due to cupping read I should go at 45 degree angles, different directions each pass, final pass done with direction of the grain.

Orbital sander will be used for edges with matching grits.

Waterpop floor prior to stain, After final pass with belt sander. Prior to staining the floor I planned on using a 100grit screen to take out some of the roughness of the water pop.
*should I screen After belt sander before water poping, then again after water popping?

Stain: dura seal - coffee brown

1st coat Bona - Traffic HD 50/50 semigloss / satin
*want a little more shine then I have now with just satin

Pole sand - 180 grit