Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed May 15, 2024 12:37 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: How's Biz?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 3:09 pm 
Most Valuable Contributor

Around here, it has been miserable, except for carpet layers re-habing foreclosures. Some say it's the worst they've ever seen, worse than the early 90's. And it's going to last awhile. With gas prices at $4.25 a gallon and competing with the illegals, it makes one think about not even bothering to try. Customers have become extremely picky and not wanting to pay for experienced installers, preferring to go with the low price. I'm almost ready to hang it up and do something else. What has been your experiences of late?

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:58 am 
Prized Contributor

I'm booked through the end of October on work. But take that with a grain of salt. I am unique in the fact that I am an adequate installer of virtually any hard surface material there is. Most of my work year round involves installing ceramic or stone and shower construction. Hardwood installs always come in third.

The job I'm on right now involves building two glass block showers, about 400' of 12 x12 porcelain tile floors, 900' of 18 x 18's , then last will be another 900' of an engineered Tigerwood.

I rue the day when I can say most of my work is hardwood.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:34 pm 
Newbie Contributor

I have work 'till 1st of july , however same here too ...it looks very bad , considering how many people call for any estimates ..
Today the crude oil did hit $139 ... ouch .. yeah we should look soon for something different ..

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 5:57 am 
Site Admin