Amish made hardwood

It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 8:36 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: How to prevent wood floor spills from getting into basement?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 8:12 am 
New User

Hello guys, newbie here.

I own an older home that looks to have original wood flooring (Douglas Fir?). There is a basement below the floor and sometimes spills on the floor will seep into the basement. In some areas of the floor you could see light coming through from the basement. Other than that, the floor looks to be in great shape and we always get positive comments about it.

Question:
I am looking at finishing the basement and would like to put up some kind of sound proofing material (Rockwool?) in between the joists on the basement ceiling, but I am concerned about spills from the floor getting into the basement ceiling. Is there something I can apply to the wood floor to keep the spills from getting through? Perhaps just a heavy application of polyurethane?

Any advice would be great. Thank you!

Profile E-mail  

Amish made hardwood

Post subject: Re: How to prevent wood floor spills from getting into basement?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:38 pm 
Prized Contributor