Amish made hardwood

It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 6:26 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: How do you get the rail road spikes out of floor?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 7:29 pm 
New User

Ok they are not that big but they look kind of like them and in my floor they look pretty big. This is my first time writing as well as the first T&G hardwood floor refinishing job. I bought this house 2 years ago because of what I seen in the closets that didn't have carpet. Beautiful hardwood floors. I know under the carpet will be worst but not like this. I'm started in the bedroom and removed the carpet. To my surprise the floor looks real good just a few water/animal stains here and there mostly flat with some shifting of the planks. I also notice what looks like railroad spikes but smaller. I know they used them to quiet the floor but how do you get them out or do you leave them? Some are quit deep. Should I use a punch and drive them in farther where the sanding operation will not reach them and full trowel fill over them or try and remove them then fill over the holes.

Pulled up the carpet in the family room and it has a linoleum tile under the carpet. Pulled some of the linoleum up and to my surprise found tarpaper under it that they glued to the hardwood floor. Any ideas on how to get that stuff up? I think my only option is to scrap as much up of the tarpaper as I can then sand the rest. This project is on hold for a month but would love some help on this as well

I plan on doing the living and dining rooms but after this I'm not sure when that will be. Little afraid to look under the carpet on those floors I guess it can't be worse then what I've found so far. :D Boy how I wish my first outing would have been an easier one. Nothing like getting your feet wet the hard way.