Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:46 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:04 pm 
Offline
Prized Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:48 pm
Posts: 1802
Location: Las Vegas
So I get a call from a gal referred to me, that wants me to take 2200' of Laminate out of her house( before the bank takes it), and install 1800' of it, in the house she's in now.

It's a discontinued top of the line ( click) Wilsonart. She says she can get transitions even though Wilsonart isn't manufacturing Laminate Flooring.

Well I've always been told...Laminate can be re-installed up to 3 times. What do guys think?

Iv'e also been told laminate needs to acclimate in the boxes.......( If there's a big RH difference between the houses...the t&g profile may swell, And I'm in trouble?

Maybe I'm, gonna get in trouble anyway if the bank takes over the house before I pull the floor out :roll:

What all do you guys think I'm up against...just got back from the house she's in.

_________________
Howard Chorpash
Frazier Mountain Hardwood
http://www.lasvegaswoodflooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:24 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 6:00 pm
Posts: 601
If she still owns the house then she still owns the floor also. I would ask for the removal payment right away in case there is a problem trying to put it back together. If you can take the floor apart without to much wiggling around the should be fine, as long as they weren't glued together also. I used to do that on larger Wilsonart jobs as I didn't trust their tap and lock joints.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 2:18 pm 
Offline
Prized Contributor

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:05 pm
Posts: 1388
Location: Knoxville,Tn
Glue may not be a bad idea for some insurance on the reinstall.

_________________
Kevin Daniel
Heartland Hardwood Flooring
Knoxville, Tn
www.HeartlandHardwoodFlooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 2:36 pm 
Offline
Prized Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:48 pm
Posts: 1802
Location: Las Vegas
Thanks guys...good points. I'm about to sit down and figure this thing. I think that's a great idea to figure glue. I don't need this thing moving apart after install.

I imagine as long as she still owns the house, and there's no legal papers in the windows. The bank probably changes locks right away also.

Tryin to figure out what to charge for takeup, stacking, transporting, acclimating.....

Funny ...I was told when Laminates 1st came to the U.S., that folks in Europe take their floors with them when they moved. Still don't know if that was some Reps line or not.

Shoot...Now my mind is playing devil's advocate...maybe I'll sleep on it, and figure it tomorrow.
All the "what if's"... Who knows how it was installed....any damage to t&g, etc. etc...Am I being over cautious, or a whimp?

_________________
Howard Chorpash
Frazier Mountain Hardwood
http://www.lasvegaswoodflooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 4:50 pm 
Offline
Worthy Contributor

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 8:28 pm
Posts: 471
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
I dont think their will be any issues with reinstalling the laminate into another house. The only issue might be getting your money from the girl who is getting her house taken.

_________________
Rhodes Hardwood Flooring
Minneapolis, St. Paul, MN
http://www.HardwoodFlooringMinneapolis.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 11:09 pm 
Offline
Prized Contributor

Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 3:45 pm
Posts: 3309
Location: Tucson AZ
Howard, that stuff locks really tight, better take a Board Bully. :mrgreen: Their core material is hard as nails too. So you should be good puttin git back together. FYI, I think they even had something in their warranty about the first buyer/enduser moving it. I'll have to see if I saved their literature.

_________________
Stephen Perrera
Top Floor Installation Co.
Tucson, Arizona
Floor Repairs and Installation in Tucson, Az
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 11:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:08 pm
Posts: 1677
Location: Bonita Springs, Florida
Keeping the laminate in good shape from one house to the next is one of the biggest challenges. We all know how easily the edges like to chip. Good thing you have an extra 400 sf to work with. What an interesting job. Get some pics


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 11:38 am 
Offline
Prized Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:48 pm
Posts: 1802
Location: Las Vegas
Yes, should be interesting. I'm figuring on setting up 2 saw horses, and wrapping the bundle ends with shrink wrap. Trying to avoid the planks sliding around and chipping during transport, and don't want just a pile of planks. Plus warping issues,etc.

Still having a little tough time moraly...the idea of pulling the floor out of that house.

_________________
Howard Chorpash
Frazier Mountain Hardwood
http://www.lasvegaswoodflooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 3:53 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:36 pm
Posts: 705
she in a rental now?

dont feel bad for the bank...they never stop making money...and they the reason crap is like the way it is now..

Until the sheriffs lock her out..its hers and everything in it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 3:54 pm 
Offline
Valued Contributor

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:36 pm
Posts: 705
also seems rediculous...when you think the cost of laminate today..

the cost to remove, slavage,transport and reinstall cant be saving her anything..guess she really loves that floor


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 3:59 pm 
Offline
Prized Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:48 pm
Posts: 1802
Location: Las Vegas
That's the first thing I thought...just buy more Laminate. But It's a top of the line Wilsonart handscraped. So I guess it was a few bucks, when she bought it. Yea...she loves it too, and it's discontinued. It's not gonna cost her nearly as much to pull it out of there. Plus I think there's sentimental value :lol: :roll: . ( She owns 2 houses...losing 1 )

_________________
Howard Chorpash
Frazier Mountain Hardwood
http://www.lasvegaswoodflooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 4:08 pm 
Offline
Prized Contributor

Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 3:45 pm
Posts: 3309
Location: Tucson AZ
Do you have the correct tapping block for that Howard? You can borrow mine, only used it a couple times.

_________________
Stephen Perrera
Top Floor Installation Co.
Tucson, Arizona
Floor Repairs and Installation in Tucson, Az
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 4:12 pm 
Offline
Prized Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:48 pm
Posts: 1802
Location: Las Vegas
Been years since I installed Wilsonart. "Correct" taping block :mrgreen: . I figure I'd bring some home while it acclimates, and make something up if need be. It takes a different tapping block? :lol: I think last time I installed Wilsonart..It was a glued t&g.

_________________
Howard Chorpash
Frazier Mountain Hardwood
http://www.lasvegaswoodflooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 4:52 pm 
Offline
Prized Contributor

Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 3:45 pm
Posts: 3309
Location: Tucson AZ
Yea I bet you could build one, the one I have fits the joint top and bottom perfectly. Not sure if you can still get the blue fusion adhesive though.

Can't really find a picture of that block, this is all I can find.

http://www.wilsonartflooring.com/produc ... nglish.pdf

_________________
Stephen Perrera
Top Floor Installation Co.
Tucson, Arizona
Floor Repairs and Installation in Tucson, Az
http://www.tucsonazflooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re-Install Laminate
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:59 pm 
Offline
Prized Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:48 pm
Posts: 1802
Location: Las Vegas
Thanks Stephen , that helps alot. They did show a picture of a little "end block", but I like using the longer blocks with the handle. Figure I'll just run one through the table saw. I figure I'm goin to go over there and pull 25' of plank or so, before I dive into this completely. Do a bunch of testing in my shop. Hopefully they didn't use too much of that Blue Fusion, on the original install, ( she told me they didn't acclimate, so who knows what they did :roll: ). I'm figuring on gluing all t&g with Titebond, but gonna test it first. Appreciate your offer on the tapping block...may take ya up on that.

_________________
Howard Chorpash
Frazier Mountain Hardwood
http://www.lasvegaswoodflooring.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

phpBB SEO