Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 4:40 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: laminate flooring noises
PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2010 3:16 pm 
Newbie Contributor

im an installer in north west arkansas.i am having problems with one particular laminate product.manufaturer is uniboard.product is handscraped hickory from lowes.the stuff goes down beautifully and can easily be mistaken for real hardwood .the problem is these crackling noises.i did nothing differently than on all hard surface jobs.moisture testing,flattening low spots to within spec,proper expansion in all areas,etc...two jobs that i did this flooring in are now making subtle popping noises.what is the cause if they used the proper cleaner and i did all the proper installation criteria. the internet hasnt been very helpful.they all say installation issue,yet i follow manu. instruction to the tee.so my question is what else could it be.and by the way as an experiment i sprayed some silicone in one of the noiser boards and instantly the noise was gone.these floors were both installed mid and late last year.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: laminate flooring noises
PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2010 11:45 pm 
Prized Contributor

Well you probably already know it's t&g noise.

The only time I've heard t&g noise is...
1) Subfloor out of spec. Which sounds like it isn't.
2) Warped planks out of the box. Which you would have heard when installing.
3) Floor is locked in somewhere. Binding the t&g
4) Different rooms moving at different rates. No t-mouldings in doorways, or T-mouldings not installed correct, causing binding.
5) Homeowner not keeping the RH within recomendation.

Here's a theory I just thought of. I imagine if the consumer isn't maintaining the floor correctly, the t&g could swell enough to make noise, but not enough to be noticible to the eye ,or even the texture of the t&g could change, like become abrasive?

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 7:17 pm