Amish made hardwood

It is currently Wed Apr 17, 2024 11:07 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: layout question - run boards through doorways and into hall?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:32 pm 
Newbie Contributor

I'm about to tackle my first engineered hardwood project, and wanted to get some guidance on layout method for rooms that intersect with a hallway.

I'll be putting 6" engineered hardwood throughout the house, and the upstairs has a long hallway, with two bedrooms on one side, and one at the end. the planks will run lengthwise down the hall.

i'm starting in one of the side bedrooms, and wondering what is the best thing to do when I get to the doorway where the bedroom meets the hall. i could put a t-molding, or i could keep laying floorboards without the t-mold. it seems more professional to keep laying the flooring, and no do a t-mold, but i am not a professional.

thoughts?

Profile E-mail  

Amish made hardwood

Post subject: Re: layout question - run boards through doorways and into hall?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:00 am 
Prized Contributor

If you are fastening the flooring down, you don't need a T-molding. If it is a floating floor you should use a T-molding.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 9:26 am 
Newbie Contributor

Thanks for the response!

I originally assumed the floor would not move, as I am stapling it down, but the manufacturer install guide specifically states for staple down method to allow 1/2" at all walls. This doesn't make sense to me, since it is engineered, and I can't see how engineered wood flooring stapled to plywood subfloor could move at all.

I may have to call the manufacturer (Provenza) and see if they can clarify.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:21 pm 
Valued Contributor