Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 1:11 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Lumber Liquidators 'Complaints
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:55 pm 
Newbie Contributor

My name is Jim Decker, I am an NWFA Ceritified Hardwood Inspector. I have inspected many floors from Lumber Liquidators. I have seen many instances of overwood, crook and mis-milling. I have spoken to their head of installation services regarding many times and LL has on their website Flooring 101 which is routinely ignored not their fault. They have a lot of problems as they sell a lot of solid hardwood which is not as forgiving as engineered floors.
Typically I find contractors installing solid wood over concrete utilizing OSB, not recommended by any mfg, not fastening it correctly, not following the nailing schedule stated, not covering concrete with moisture retarding material and a host of such problems NOT LL fault.
There store personnel cannot accurately advise their customers regarding installation and its care and maintenance. I have seen stacks of solid hardwood palletized outside in 100 degree weather Sooo if an installer takes it and puts it right down it will most certainly buckle as soon as moisture content increases. It should have been acclimated in the house until the moisture content reads between 6% to 9%. BUT now we are suggesting installers use moisture meters, Humm for the most part not in El Paso. Conversely installing wood at too high a moisture content will most certainly insure gaps sometime the following winter.
Then there is the matter of insuring clients are made aware of mfg requirements of 60 to 80 degree temp and 35% to 55% relative humidity levels year around.
All complaints I investigated never got this information.