Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri May 03, 2024 5:23 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Mercier Tigerwood Install
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:15 pm 
New User

Hello...
I was just wondering if anyone here has any suggestions on installing 3/4 in solid Mercier Tigerwood. I've been installing floors for 11 years so I've got the basics down. My problem is this....

The wood is splitting along the grain with every fastener. We tried 2 1/2 in L power cleats, 2 in. L power cleats, 2 in. long and 1 1/2 in. long staples both with a 1/2 in. crown. All with the same results. Severe splitting along the tongue and occasionally through the top of the boards.

We lowered the pressure on the compressor to the point where it wouldn't set the fasteners but the problem remains.

Any solutions or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:01 pm 
Valued Contributor

Hi Jimmy,

Wow,,,,,,,, Questions:
1. How does the nailer "fit" onto the edge of the board and onto the top of the tongue? Is everything snug?
2. What is the width of the board?
3. What is the current Wood Moisture Content?
4. What is the Manufactured width supposed to be?

I am not experienced at this issue, but the one time I did find it, the wood was found to be OVER-dried... about 10% to 15% of the floor did the exact same thing you described.
The wood flooring was sent to a University for testing. Sent them an entire box and that is what they came up with. That was a few years back.....
Maybe Floorguy or Gary has some experience with this problem.

I think it is time to back off that job?? :?:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:37 pm 
New User

Wow.... Quick reply. Thanks!!!!

To answer your questions...

Ray Darrah wrote:
Hi Jimmy,

1. How does the nailer "fit" onto the edge of the board and onto the top of the tongue? Is everything snug?
2. What is the width of the board?