Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 12:49 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: do most installer get discounts on materials?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 2:28 pm 
New User

What kind of business relationships are possible with distributors, wholesale stores and or retail stores as far as getting material at a discount? a local major distributor told me i would need a storefront in order to purchase from them. I can understand that they are protecting their retail relationships. however, outside of a true distributor, if I am a flooring contractor and able to bringing customers/business to them then should I not expect some kind of discount? I have been to a few stores around town that were called “something something distributors” but sold material to the general public, i have talked with them about referrals and left them business cards and they never mention any kind of commercial account or discounts… I probably should have asked them right then but I was thinking at the time it would just be great to get them to refer me to their customers.

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 3:10 pm 
Prized Contributor

Many distributors will only sell you certain prefinished lines if you have a store they do it to protect the market. Every distributor is different, most if they sell to the general public will put bigger margins on those sales. If you are a flooring contractor you should be getting a better deal. It doesnt allways work that way, one wholesaler here in town will sell mom and pop at the same price as their everyday guys. Dont think if I was buying I would be giving them much of my buisness but whatever.

www.HeartlandHardwoodFlooring.com

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 6:24 pm 
Prized Contributor