Amish made hardwood

It is currently Tue May 07, 2024 7:52 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: need suggestions please!! how do i get this level with that
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 1:14 am 
Newbie Contributor

i had a worker put some travertine tile down in my kitchen and i instructed him to go very easy on the adhesive or perhaps use a different type of adhesive that is thinner than the one he intended to use on the first row of tiles as i would later need to get my 1/2 inch hardwood floor to lay flush next to the travertine tile. well, it didn't happen, when i got back from my trip i noticed the travertine tile (already a little more than 1/2 inch thick) was layed on top of about a 1/2 inch of adhesive. my problem now is that i have to get my hardwood to lay level next to the tile. any suggestions on how to get this done? here are some pics...

this is my first time laying down hardwood floor so go easy, please

i'll try to put up some pictures...i don't have a website :(

Amish made hardwood

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 8:36 am 
Newbie Contributor

try www.imageshack.us, they host pics for free (just have to be under 1 meg I believe)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:28 pm 
Site Admin

You could always gently ramp the(subfloor) hardwood floor in that area, although 1/2" is a lot of ground to makeup. Otherwise some type of overlap reducer would work.

Uptown was created by your administrator, offering my high quality 3/4" engineered floors made in the USA. Unfinished and prefinished.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:19 am 
Prized Contributor

The travertine needs that much mud to be set into. If not it will come loose, or crack.

An endcap reducer, is in order.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:12 am 
Newbie Contributor

here is the pic... don't i need something could go from the wood to a HIGHER level and not the other way around?

thanks!