Amish made hardwood

It is currently Mon May 06, 2024 8:39 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: New to site, hardwood problem
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 5:52 pm 
New User

don't get ugly, i'm new here and i need some advise.
read this all the way through then ask questions or make remarks.

just need some advise.

I have been installing floor covering for 27 years in South east Alabama.

First off we have no codes or strict prep that are used in this area.

We installed some new Shaw 5" hardwood in a new house about three weeks ago. we set the wood in the house one afternoon around 5pm. started the next morning to install the hardwood,glue down.

in this area we glue all hardwood on concrete unless laminate.

all went great, had 2 areas that wanted to not stick good and we placed weight on the area. all was well.
in about a week the contractor called and said there were two areas that the wood had been snagged and they needed to be repaired. we went in removed these two boards and glued new ones in. about a day or two later the contractor called and had a hollow spot. we removed three boards and reglued and put new wood in.

a week went by and contractor called with three new hollow spots, went out to check this out. told the contractor that we needed to get the sales rep out to check things out.

now there are 12 areas in a room that is 16x21 that are loose/hollow. when you step on these areas the floor goes down, like the wood has raised off the floor.

called the glue people and they said they would come check the glue but it sounds like the concrete or hardwood has moisture in it.
the glue is still on the concrete and on the back of the hardwood if you remove a board.
no rep has been out yet ,but they are coming.

any ideas or things I should check?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:17 pm 
Prized Contributor