Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 6:27 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: NEW Water-based poly finish scratched easily??? Help?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 11:07 pm 
New User

Hello all, I am new to all of this and a new home owner.

We just had our white and red oak floors sanded (no stain) and refinished with water based Poly. This is my first experience with it, but I hear many good things. However, it has hardly been any time-- we haven't even moved in fully yet and the finish seems to scratch easily. When it scratches a white scratch line appears... it visually goes away a little with wiping with water, but the finish is dulled and can still be seen at certain angles with the light hitting it. Again, we haven't even moved in yet (with our dog) and I am so nervous now. I want to move in knowing this is done right and will hold up to normal life.

Come to find out the contractors used Rustoleum Parks Pro, which can be purchased at Home Depot and the like. I keep hearing in other floor forums that anything purchased from there is basically crap. The company keeps standing behind the product but I just don't feel good about it, especially after reading online reviews and seeing how anything professionally recommended is more like $115/150 plus per gallon--- not Under $40 per gallon, like the Parks "Pro". All looks beautiful overall, but for those scratches to be occurring already seems crazy. I know now that this is a one part product and not a two part (with hardener) like the higher end water-poly products. They offered they can touch up for free... and if we insist, they are offering a half cost screening/buffing and recoat... but it would still be the same product and they seem to think the result will be about the same.