Amish made hardwood

It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 3:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Picture framing from new techniques
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 8:16 pm 
Newbie Contributor

I have been refinishing floors for 10 years now and have had problems here and there but this one scares me.
On all my sand jobs I run the same thing on both my lagler hummel and super7, 50 grit and 100 grit, finished up with a 120 grit screen on my buffer.
But I helped a well established company for a day and they rough the field with the big machine using 36 grit, then they do all theyre edges with only 80 grit, then fine the field with 80 grit, and finish by buffing the whole floor with a 120 screen. floor looks great and only took half the time.
So I started using this technique but added palm sanding the edges with 80 grit on an orbital sander. first couple jobs went fine. But the last couple jobs showed a very faint picture frame on only a couple end walls but only a 1/4'' line about 4-6'' from the end wall. Im dumbfounded because I don't rush when fining off the field and my helpers palm sanded from the baseboards out 6''.
I always buff into my end walls, then buff my field at a 45 degree angle followed by going with the grain.
Any ideas how I can trouble shoot this?

Thanks

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Picture framing from new techniques
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:57 pm 
Prized Contributor

is the frame darker or lighter than the field?

www.HeartlandHardwoodFlooring.com

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 5:06 pm 
Valued Contributor

One common mistake is to not change edger paper often enough. In a typical 10x12 room , I would use at least two to three pieces of 80 grit to fine off or four or five 100 grit .

If you let your papers go too far, they heat up, get soft and polish the edges of the floor. If that happens , a bugger isn't really enough to get the surface even with the field unless you spend a very long time working it .